John Shiurba


John Shiurba is a composer and guitarist whose musical pursuits include improvisation, art-rock, modern composition and noise. Shiurba has recorded and toured the U.S. and Europe as a member of the bands Eskimo, The Molecules and Spezza Rotto, as a member of the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, Anthony Braxton's ensemble and the SFSound Group, and as an improvisor.
Shiurba has conducted the premieres of his compositions at ODC in 2005 ("Moon Cycle" for SFSound) at New Langton Arts in 2002 ("Triplicate") and at SFAlt in 2002 ("5x5 1.4" for SFSound). Shiurba was invited to play at the Seattle Improvised Music Festival in 1998, at the High Zero Festival in Baltimore in 1999, at the SFAlt Festival in 2004 and at the Olympia Experimental Music Festival in 2002 and 2004, and at the Push International Performing Arts Festival in Vancouver in 2007.
As a guitarist Shiurba has developed a unique and personalized approach to the guitar. Through the use of extended techniques and unusual preparations, he expands the traditional sound range of the instrument, producing stunning, often unrecognizable results. Cadence Magazine calls Shiurba a 'wildly creative guitarist... anti-jazz, anti-everything else, yet utterly compelling.'


John Shiurba: 5x5 with Anthony Braxton 1.2=A 2007 (Rastascan)
Spezza Rotto: Tredici Canzoni 2007
Molecules: Friends CD + DVD 2007
Dan Plonsey: Daniel Popsicle Wise King 2006 (unLimited Sedition)
Brand/Perkis/Robair/Shiurba/Sperry: Supermodel Supermodel 2006 (Emanem)
Pink Mountain 2006 (Frenetic)
John Shiurba: Triplicate 2004 (Spool)
Dan Plonsey: Daniel Popsicle Portcullis 2004 (unLimited Sedition)
Fuchs/Djll/Perkis/Robair/Shiurba/Sperry- Six Fuchs 2004 (Rastascan)
John Shiurba: 5x5 1.1=M 2004 (unLimited Sedition)
Supercasanova: Eternity Now 2004 (Flipper)
Bruckmann/Diaz-Infante/Shiurba/Stackpole: Grand Mal 2003 (Pax)
Brett Larner: Improvised Music From Japan 2003 (IMJ)
Meehan/Rosenberg/Shiurba/Sperry: Portland & Seattle 1999 - 2003 (Limited Sedition)
Scott Rosenberg Skronktet West: El 2003 (Spool)
David Cooper: Dropsy 2003 (Dropsy)
Anthony Braxton: Six Compositions (GTM) 2001 (Rastascan)
Shiurba/Rosenberg/Ingalls/Guberman/Robair: Toad in the Hole 2002 (Limited Sedition)
Jack Wright Large Ensemble: 8x9 2001 (Limited Sedition)
Brett Larner: Itadakimasu 2001 (Spool)
Shiurba/Rosenberg: One Liners 2000 (Limited Sedition)
Rosenberg/Shiurba: One Liners 2000 (Barely Auditable)
Myles Boisen: Scrambledisc 2000 (Wiggle Biscuit)
John Shiurba: Solo Guitar Vol 2: Electric 2000 (Limited Sedtion)
Shiurba/Daniels: Acefalo 2000 (Barely Auditable)
Shiurba/Boisen: Uncle Unplugged 2000 (Limited Sedition)
Shiurba/Rosenberg/Guberman/Robair: Spotted Dick 1999 (Limited Sedition)
John Shiurba: Solo Guitar Volume One: Acoustic 1999 (Limited Sedition)
Perkis/Ingalls/Shiurba/Sperry: PISS 1999 (Limited Sedition)
Shiurba/Smith/Stackpole/Wright: Mutable Witness 1999 (Limited Sedition)
Scott Rosenberg: IE (for Large Ensemble) 1999 (Barely Auditable)
Guberman/Shiurba: Gumbo Pusher 1999 (Limited Sedition)
Eskimo: Some Prefer Cake 1998 (Vaccination)
Gelb/Shiurba/Sperry/etc: Smoking Balance 1998 (Limited Sedition)
Shiurba/Rosenberg/Robair: Bubble & Squeak 1998 (Limited Sedition)
Ingalls/Perkis/Robair/Shiurba: Matthew Sperry Trio 1998 (Limited Sedition)
Boisen/Shiurba: Uncle 1998 (Limited Sedition)
Ebola Soup: Feelin' Logy 1996 (Vaccination)
Eskimo: The Further Adventures of Der Shrimpkin 1995 (Prawn Song)
Eskimo: Jack 1990 (Longpig)

return to John Shiurba's homepage